Edmond's 1889 public schoolhouse, the first public schoolhouse in Oklahoma Territory, was originally built with funds raised by the pioneer Ladies School Aid Society under the leadership of Mrs. Jennie Forster. Community volunteers supplied the labor. On September 16, 1889 the first public school opened with Miss Ollie McCormick as the teacher for 19 pupils. No fee for tuition was ever collected.
Now the oldest documented school building still standing in Oklahoma County, the schoolhouse was also the site for the establishment of four protestant churches and the first recorded wedding in the county. Converted to a private residence in 1900, and the Sanders Camera Shop in 1950, the building which has remained on original schoolyard lots, was saved and rehabilitated under the direction of the Edmond Historic Preservation Trust. It serves as a symbol of Edmond's early commitment to education and community spirit. Edmond memorabilia is also displayed.
Private schoolhouse tours are available for groups of 10 or more. Call the Edmond Historical Society & Museum at (405) 340-0078 for more information.
This Edmond schoolhouse also hosts 1889 summer camps as part of Edmond Historical Society & Museum's educational programming. These programs are held in the historic, one-room Territorial Schoolhouse in Edmond every June and July. These camps are a favorite of Edmond's little historians. Children will pretend, learn and play like they are in the year 1889. Activities include writing in pen and ink, spending a day in class with a real living history schoolmarm, dress in 1889 attire and make memories that will last a lifetime.