Tour Edit Mode: Add or remove places and events to this tour, then click done editing:

Done Editing

14 Flags Museum

Located along the railroad tracks in the eastern Oklahoma town of Sallisaw, the 14 Flags Museum honors Oklahoma's colorful history and influence by 14 separate nations. The museum is broken down into three cabins and a train depot. The oldest property is the Lattimore Cabin, which was built in 1835 by Samuel Lattimore and is a unique survivor of the turbulent Civil War years in Oklahoma. This structure is made from hand-cut logs and features a small window on the east side that residents could fire a weapon through.
The secondary cabin was built by Judge Franklin Faulkner sometime during the 1840s. Faulkner married a Cherokee woman and was forced to migrate into Oklahoma on the Trail of Tears. The 14 Flags Museum also features artifacts from the Trail of Tears in a separate cabin. The last building is the Old Sallisaw Train Depot, which reminds people of the huge influence the train had on the town and the state.
The 14 flags flown over the museum are the royal standard of Spain circa 1541, the great union of Great Britain circa 1663, the royal standard of France brought to Oklahoma in 1719, the standard of the Spanish Empire over Oklahoma in 1763, the standard of the French Republic in 1800, the United States flag circa 1803 and 1818, the flag of Mexico, the flag of the Republic of Texas, the lone star flag of Texas, the Choctaw flag, the confederate battle flag, the first Oklahoma flag in 1911 and the present Oklahoma flag designed in 1925.

  • History
  • Select All
  • Dining
  • Family Activities
  • Art & Culture
  • Lodging
  • History
  • Sports & Rec
  • Casinos & Gaming
  • Nightlife
  • Nature & Outdoors
  • State Parks
  • Road Trips
  • Route 66
  • Shopping
  • Other